Basic question about phonographs and gramophones

siopold

Hi, everyone.

I'm just learning about the history of these machines for the first time. I'm fascinated! I have a beginner's question about terminology that I hope you can help me with.

I'm looking at Bernard Shaw's play Pygmalion, which was first performed in 1914. At the beginning of the play, Henry Higgins talks about recording voices with a "cylinder" on a "phonograph." That sounds right to me--a machine used for home recording would be a phonograph, using a recorder attachment and then a reproducer attachment for playback.

I'm confused, however, by the language at the end of the play. The characters have supposedly been recording the speech of Eliza Doolittle in Higgins's home studio (the same place that initially had the phonograph and cylinders). But the language changes: one of them says they have been using "dozens of gramophone disks" and then Eliza says they can reproduce her voice "on your gramophone."

My understanding is that gramophones were playback-only machines, whereas phonographs could record and play, so the characters would be incorrect to call the home recording machine a "gramophone." I've read, however, that "gramophone" and "phonograph" were sometimes used loosely to refer to either kind of machine, so the character might be calling a phonograph a gramophone without breaking the language too badly.

The "disks" part strikes me as harder to explain. People would not have been making home recordings with gramophone disks in 1914, would they? Or have I missed something?

I'd be very grateful for your thoughts. And if there is a better forum for sharing these questions, please let me know.

Thanks,

Erik