Manophone

Shocker

I am refurbishing a 1920s Manophone that has been in my wife's family since new.

I am a woodworking hobbyist and know very little about these.

I am looking for

a manual for this unit.

guidance on lubricating the Motor

guidance on needles.

Pictures of your machine would be the first place to start, since a Manophone is not a commonly encountered machine (not rare, just not very popular).

Manophone is one of the many "off-brand" phonographs manufactured in Adrian, Michigan during the heyday of phonographs (early 1900s-1920s).  Thousands of these generic phonographs were produced.  I doubt very much that an original manual can be found, although most phonographs operate on the same basic principles and most off-brand machines were made with readily available generic parts.   If your machine has the original tonearm and reproducer, the reproducer can be rotated to play both vertical and lateral cut records (do a GOOGLE search to learn more about this).  

Your machine is designed to play "shellac" records from the early 1900s - early 1930s.  Steel needles are used for vertical cut 78rpm records, changing needles after each play.  Lateral cut records - some Pathe records, require a permanent sapphire needle and thick Edison Diamond Disc records require a diamond permanent stylus to play.  These styli are not replaced after each play...

If the motor winds up and operates, a good cleaning would be appropriate depending on how dirty or gunky it is.  Commonly old grease hardens over time and needs to be removed and new modern lithium grease applied.  

There have been many discussions about the best methods to accomplish this, but here is a starting reference:

https://forum.talkingmachine.info/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=52698

Search the Talking Machine Forum for more info on lubrication, needle usage and suppliers, etc.

TMW 9:1916.png

1230375448_ScreenShot2022-05-18at3_06_42PM.png

1670493519_ScreenShot2022-05-18at3_07_59PM.png