Noisy Induction Motor on Orthophonic Victrola

nmonty93

Hi everyone,

I am new to APS (USA membership) - glad to be here! This is my first post on the forum.

I am also new to electric, motor-driven phonographs (but not the acoustic, spring-driven variety). Earlier this year I acquired a VE7-25X. This particular model has the induction disc motor to run the turntable. There lies my issue (I searched this forum for previous threads with no luck).

I have found that the motor can go from running at a "barely audible" hum (good) to a very loud hum (unbearable). Even closing the lid while playing records cannot drown out the loud hum.

I can't seem to find any patterns. Sometimes I can play 10 records in a row without issue. Other times I can play 2-3 and the loud hum/buzz will occur. And even other times the motor hums when playing my first record of the day. That being said, I don't think the motor heating up is the root cause here.

I have checked the motor's components and cannot find any signs of looseness. I will go back and double-check though as that could be easy to miss. I also checked my switch for any potential root cause to no avail. I even thought the auto-brake could be sending some force to the motor causing the hum. I haven't tried to "soft/manually brake" my records yet to see if the loud hum still presents itself - an experiment for another day.

Any thoughts on how to eliminate this issue? As stated before, the loud hum/buzz will come and go without any apparent pattern. Sometimes it can sit for a day and go away, other times the buzz is still present. Perhaps the motor just has to be rebuilt, but I've heard many say it's better to leave these untouched if they are still "running".  Oh and one more note: I did grease/oil the motor's various components when servicing the phonograph a few months ago.

Thank you in advance!

Nate