Any help about this Victor?

Ockeghem

Greetings everyone, I’m new to the passion of talking machines, and about to start my journey in this amazing world with the purchase of a Victor gramophone a seller sent me the pictures of. 
I have a doubt which may seem banal but I really need an expert’s knowledge and can’t find any infos on the web:

aren’t victor machine supposed to have another kind of horn, rather than this brass one? I know of painted black cone-shaped steel horns with a brass bell on Victor machines, but never seen a flower-shaped one entirely made of brass like this is. The rest of the machine looks genuine though.

Can someone help me with my doubts, before I fall in an incautious mistake? 
thank you very much, have a good day!

O.

17A4A030-C340-4CD2-A583-E863193E11A1.jpeg

F6A9215C-088C-441D-905C-89EC1AA8E985.jpeg

CF9CFA2E-17D8-49A8-8E49-D94189F1A375.jpeg

That is not a genuine Victor, but rather what is often called a "Frankenphone;" a machine made up from parts of several others - often of various brands.

Unless this is priced very, very cheaply, I'd walk away.  It's only value is in some of the parts.

George P.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Thank you very much, I was afraid of that… well it’s not very cheap actually (590€) so I’ll find another solution. I am very grateful for your quick answers, I’ll give you news! 

3 hours ago, Ockeghem said:

Thank you very much, I was afraid of that… well it’s not very cheap actually (590€) so I’ll find another solution. I am very grateful for your quick answers, I’ll give you news! 

Good that you inquired when you did.  So many people ask such questions after they have already spent a lot of money, only to find out they've purchased junk.