Horn with Hand-Painted Ribbon (?) and Flowers

PatheLogical

PatheLogical

I found this cylinder machine horn (manufactured by the Standard Metal Manufacturing Company of Newark, NJ.) in an antiques shop yesterday.   Now I'm not really a novice when it comes to owning horns decorated with hand-painted flowers (see my user Cover Photo by clicking on my avatar), but this one threw me initially.   At first glance I thought some well-intentioned, previous owner had "improved" (read "ruined") the horn by adding the light-blue ribbon decoration.    But then I looked at the position of the flowers around the ribbon on the four lower panels, and realized the whole thing is completely original.   I don't think I've ever seen a horn with hand-painted flowers with painted ribbon decoration --- have you?

I still have so much to learn...

Bob

DSCN2762.JPG

DSCN2764.JPG

DSCN2769.JPG

Edited by PatheLogical
  • Like 1

PatheLogical

Speaking of having so much to learn --- how do I edit out all of the duplicate pictures???

Help!!!

PatheLogical
22 minutes ago, melvind said:

You can click on an image and then use the Delete key to remove the images.

Thanks Dan,

I had tried this (prior to posting and after, numerous  times), but this didn't work in edit mode.   Neither did highlighting an image and then right clicking bringing up a menu and clicking on "delete".   Normally, when in edit mode, I see a "garbage can"/delete icon in the top-right corner of each uploaded image, but this didn't appear during the first ten or so edit attempts.   Miraculously, that garbage can image eventually appeared on each image in the uploaded image area, and I was able to just click the garbage can and thus delete.   Perhaps Brandon can look into this...

Thanks again,

Bob

Wow Bob - - that's interesting!  Standard did lots of interesting stuff with horns, but I don't recall seeing a decorative ribbon painted in a horn before.  Such nice condition too...  Congratulations!

George P.

• Thanks 1