Milwaukee Talking Machine

cauer

Hello!

I am completely new to these so please be kind. Haha.

I aquired this Milwaukee Talking Machine today with some minor issues (everything seems to be running properly, EXCEPT it skips when playing).

I was hoping to locate an owners manual online or any information to troubleshoot this problem, but it's proving to be trickier than I imagined! While a serial number is included, I can't seem to find anything! I have found some old advertisements for Dalions and Resonas and that's pretty much it! No pics match it! 

I know the market was saturated at one point with off-brand machines like this this and I don't kid myself that it has any value. It is just valuable to me since I could afford it and I love antiques! 

If anybody has any knowledge on this company, model, or how I may be able to fix my skipping problem, I would love the info!

I paid $75 for it and, as far as I'm concerned, if it's just a cool piece of furniture in my house that only semi-functions, that's fine by me! Haha.

Thanks!

20230906_181032.jpg

20230906_181040.jpg

Welcome to this great hobby!  Looks like you bought a very fine phonograph.  From the look of your reproducer (that's the round thing that you put the needle into) it looks like you have a dual model that can play vertical (requires a sapphire or diamond stylus) and lateral (requires a steel needle, good for just one play) records.  Vertical records include Pathe and Edison, Lateral records include Victor and Columbia).  You twist the reproducer to get the different types. Instead of writing a whole article here, I will let you Google some of this stuff to get more answers.  As for your skipping problem, maybe your tonearm is potmetal and has frozen tight, or maybe you are playing a lateral record with the reproducer on the vertical setting?  

• Thanks 1

Welcome to the forum, Cauer!