Prototype or Patent Model Edison Concert Phonograph???

lmikecorbin

lmikecorbin

Well, this my first time asking for advice about a phonograph. I purchased this phonograph on a "Donley Auction" on March 20, 2023. I received it a couple of days ago and am at a loss as to what it might be. I don't know anywhere better to ask than the members of this forum. I have been collecting for over 30 years and this is the first of this type of phonograph that I have come in contact with. Here is how it was described online" This unusual machine resembles an early Edison Concert cylinder phonograph. Upper works and bedplate appear to be fabricated out of steel plate, not the usual castings. Brass carriage and mandrel. Early Edison-style automatic reproducer with some variance in modifications. Good stylus. Motor appears complete and as with the upper mechanism, the motor castings also appear to be fabricated. Cabinet and cover appear to be hand-built. Overall good condition with original golden oak finish. Small accessory drawer. Missing winding crank. This machine appears to either be a prototype or patent model?? Nicely built by someone with very advanced skills. Base measures approximately 12 3/4" x 18" and with lid, approximately 18" H." I am fascinated as to how this was hand built. What it turns out to be, I am very happy with it. I will include photographs with this article and am asking for your thoughts. Thanks for reading this.

Concert15.jpg

Concert16.jpg

Concert17.jpg

Concert3.jpg

Concert4.jpg

Concert5.jpg

Concert6.jpg

Concert7.jpg

Concert8.jpg

Concert9.jpg

Concert10.jpg

Concert11.jpg

Concert12.jpg

Concert13.jpg

Concert14.jpg

Concert1.jpg

Edison Type Concert Phonograph2.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph3.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph4.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph5.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph6.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph7.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph8.webp

Edison Type Concert Phonograph9.webp

• Like 1