Can Acoustic machines play the 78s from the 40s

PeterN

I am new to the hobby, and have a Victor Victrola VV-90 (ca. 1922). I would like to play some Al Jolson disks from 1946 but I don't know if they will play without damaging them as they were made in the "electronic phonograph" era where the tone arm pressure was likely less.

Any advice?

You've opened the proverbial "can of worms" with your question, as you'll soon discover from what I suspect will be numerous responses on all sides of the issue. I can only speak from my own experience, as the owner of a VV-XI (model G, 1917), which is essentially similar to your VV-90. I play 78s from all eras, both acoustic and electric, with soft-tone steel needles (fresh one for every 12" side; same needle for both sides of a 10"). The only 78s that you cannot play on an acoustic machine are the late vinyl ones from toward the end of the 78 era; the pickup is too heavy and the vinyl will be irreparably damaged. I play my jazz and big band 78s from the 1920s-'30s'-'40s without ill effects.

On the other hand, if you do happen to wear out your Jolson records, you can have mine! Not my favorite. Happy listening!

• Like 1

There was a recent thread here on this topic, which you can read here; just click on the box below:

As Henry mentioned, opinions and feelings can be surprisingly intense on this subject, running from "You must do such and such or you're morally inferior!" to "It's my property and I can do anything I please with it - - especially if it irritates YOU!"